review: PERFECT LIARS by Kimberly Reid

img_9203

Title: PERFECT LIARS by Kimberly Reid

Genre: YA contemporary/mystery

Goodreads

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Synopsis

Andrea Faraday is junior class valedictorian at the exclusive Woodruff School, where she was voted Most Likely to Do Everything Right. But looks can be deceiving. When her parents disappear, her life and her Perfect Girl charade begins to crumble, and her scheme to put things right just takes the situation from bad to so much worse. Pretty soon she’s struck up the world’s least likely friendship with the juvenile delinquents at Justice Academy, the last exit on the road to jail and the first stop on the way out.
If she were telling it straight, friendship might not be the right word to describe their alliance, since Drea and her new associates could not be more different. She’s rich and privileged; they’re broke and, well, criminal. But Drea’s got a secret: she has more in common with the juvie kids than they’d ever suspect. When it turns out they share a common enemy, Drea suggests they join forces to set things right. Sometimes, to save the day, a good girl’s gotta be bad.

Review

Overall I really enjoyed reading this one! The characters and the plot kept me engaged the whole time and the writing style made it really easy to follow along! I think it’s super important to be engaged from the get-go when it comes to mystery’s and this book did it perfectly! My only complaint is that I felt the ending was a little rushed.

Characters

I think the characters and their interactions were half the reason I stayed engaged so much with this book. Drea & her family dynamic was definitely intriguing to read about, especially because for the most part, it was Drea sort of thinking and explaining her relationship with her parents considering they were missing for majority of the book. Drea and Damon’s sibling relationship was awesome and felt really authentic. Their banter always had me smiling or laughing. Drea herself was also really intriguing because she has the conflict of wanting to not be seen as the “good girl” but also not wanting to follow in her parents criminal footsteps. I wasn’t sure how I should feel about Xavier until about halfway through the book, but eventually he grew on me and whilst I thought the development of Xavier and Drea’s relationship happened rather quickly, I found myself rooting for them by the end of the book. Jason was an interesting character that I loved reading about. His instant dislike for Drea made for some drama filled, entertaining scenes but I knew from the start that they’d eventually strike up a friendship. Gigi was another character that I wasn’t sure how to feel about and considering we didn’t get to see a lot of her until towards the end of the book, I’m still not sure if I like her either way. I think things could’ve been improved if we’d seen more of a development of Gigi’s friendship with Drea, Xavier and Jason.

Plot

Overall I think the plot was really great! For some reason I was expecting the plot to be more centered around trying to find Drea’s parents, but once I got a few chapters in, I realised the book was taking a different turn than I’d expected. I think the mystery part of this definitely kept me on the edge of my seat and there were certain plot twists I didn’t see coming, which is definitely what I want to happen when I’m reading a mystery. I think the plot moved at a great pace, which was helped by the book being broken up by time. Everything felt like a natural progression and I was definitely satisfied with the ending and the overall plot of the book!

Writing

I really enjoyed this writing style and felt that it helped the plot flow so well. At times I thought the writing got a little choppy and a little convoluted, but for the most part, I really liked it! Reid’s style and the way she set out the novel made for a really fun, engaging read.

Recommendation

I think I will definitely continue recommending this one! This is such an underrated YA mystery that I think many people will love if they give it a shot! If you’re a fan of mystery, definitely give this one a go and even if you’re not already a fan, I’d still recommend trying this one out to see how you go!

until next time

4 thoughts on “review: PERFECT LIARS by Kimberly Reid

  1. Sofia @ BookishWanderess says:

    This book sounds really interesting! I love a good mystery and I haven’t read enough of them with a diverse cast of characters. Your review left me really intrigued about the friendship between Jason and Drea, because I love friendships that start after the characters didn’t like each other at the beginning. I definitely want to read this one. Great review, T!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

