Diversity Spotlight Thursday | #1

Hi everyone, today I’m bringing to you my first ever Diversity Spotlight Thursday post! I’ve seen this around twitter a bit and quite a few of the people I follow here on WordPress participate so I thought this would be a fun meme to do to spotlight some diverse books!

This weekly meme is hosted by the lovely Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks. Every week you feature 3 books:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released that you haven’t read yet
  3. A diverse book that has not been released.

For all the info, check out the announcement post.

read1

img_6349

THIS SIDE OF HOME by Renée Watson

Identical twins Nikki and Maya have been on the same page for everything—friends, school, boys and starting off their adult lives at a historically African-American college. But as their neighborhood goes from rough-and-tumble to up-and-coming, suddenly filled with pretty coffee shops and boutiques, Nikki is thrilled while Maya feels like their home is slipping away. Suddenly, the sisters who had always shared everything must confront their dissenting feelings on the importance of their ethnic and cultural identities and, in the process, learn to separate themselves from the long shadow of their identity as twins.

I read this back in February and absolutely adored it. It was recommended to me on Twitter and though I hadn’t seen or heard a lot of hype, I immediately decided to add it to my TBR/buy it/read it. I have 0 regrets. This was such a beautifully written contemporary YA with great platonic, romantic & familial relationships. Watson very easily became one of my auto-buy authors after reading this book and I’m sure this will stay on my favourites list of 2017. Highly, highly recommend this book.

tbr1

IMG_9250

GOD SMITES AND OTHER MUSLIM GIRL PROBLEMS by Ishara Deen

Craving a taste of teenage life, Asiya Haque defies her parents to go for a walk (really, it was just a walk!) in the woods with Michael, her kind-of-friend/crush/the guy with the sweetest smile she’s ever seen. Her tiny transgression goes completely off track when they stumble on a dead body. Michael covers for Asiya, then goes missing himself.
Despite what the police say, Asiya is almost sure Michael is innocent. But how will she, the sheltered girl with the strictest parents ever, prove anything? With Michael gone, a rabid police officer in desperate need of some sensitivity training, and the murderer out there, how much will Asiya risk to do what she believes is right?

This book is on my March TBR and I couldn’t be more excited to read it. This has #ownvoices Muslim rep which is mostly the reason I picked it up! I’m also a huge fan of mysteries and think this one sounds amazing. I’ve heard great things from the few people I know who’ve read this so I have high hopes I’m going to love it.

coming-soon1

IMG_9252

THE GAUNTLET by Karuna Riazi

A trio of friends from New York City find themselves trapped inside a mechanical board game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves and generations of other children in this action-packed debut that’s a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair.
When twelve-year-old Farah and her two best friends get sucked into a mechanical board game called The Gauntlet of Blood and Sand—a puzzle game akin to a large Rubik’s cube—they know it’s up to them to defeat the game’s diabolical architect in order to save themselves and those who are trapped inside, including her baby brother Ahmed. But first they have to figure out how.
Under the tutelage of a lizard guide named Henrietta Peel and an aeronaut Vijay, the Farah and her friends battle camel spiders, red scorpions, grease monkeys, and sand cats as they prepare to face off with the maniacal Lord Amari, the man behind the machine. Can they defeat Amari at his own game…or will they, like the children who came before them, become cogs in the machine?

I’m anticipating so many upcoming releases but I just had to pick THE GAUNTLET for this week. I don’t read a lot of middle grade but I loved Jumanji as a kid and as soon as I saw the comparison, I knew I had to give this one a go. Not only that, but I also love the author themselves, so I have no doubt this book is going to blow me away. THE GAUNTLET releases March 28th 2017.

That’s it for today! If these 3 books weren’t already on your radar, I hope they are now! Do you have a Diversity Spotlight Thursday post? Link it to me in the comments & I’ll check it out; I love discovering new diverse book recommendations!

until next time

7 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday | #1

Leave a Reply

