Book Haul: March ’17

Hi everyone! Here’s my ridiculously big March book haul! Do you ever get around to organising your haul and you think to yourself “you didn’t buy that many this month” but then when you actually go through the book you bought, you realise you bought a LOT more than you thought you did? That’s me, this month. I can be cheeky and say that I bought them so that I have books to read now that I’ve moved and don’t have a job, but we all know I really bought them just because I wanted them. I definitely won’t be buying this many in a month any time soon! Anyway, here are the 25 books I’ve accumulated this month!

Review Copies

IMG_9248

THE SEAFARER’S KISS by Julia Ember

Having long-wondered what lives beyond the ice shelf, nineteen-year-old mermaid Ersel learns of the life she wants when she rescues and befriends Ragna, a shield-maiden stranded on the mermen’s glacier. But when Ersel’s childhood friend and suitor catches them together, he gives Ersel a choice: say goodbye to Ragna or face justice at the hands of the glacier’s brutal king.
Determined to forge a different fate, Ersel seeks help from Loki. But such deals are never as one expects, and the outcome sees her exiled from the only home and protection she’s known. To save herself from perishing in the barren, underwater wasteland and be reunited with the human she’s come to love, Ersel must try to outsmart the God of Lies.

 Thank you so much to Duet Books for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  This book is due for release on May 4th and I’m so excited to read it!

IMG_9249

HOLLYWOOD HOMICIDE by Kellye Garrett

Dayna Anderson doesn’t set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke black actress wants is to help her parents keep their house. After witnessing a deadly hit-and-run, she figures pursuing the fifteen-grand reward isn’t the craziest thing a Hollywood actress has done for some cash.
But what starts as simply trying to remember a speeding car soon blossoms into a full-on investigation. As Dayna digs deeper into the victim’s life, she wants more than just reward money. She’s determined to find the poor woman’s killer too. When she connects the accident to a notorious Hollywood crime spree, Dayna chases down leads at paparazzi hot spots, celeb homes and movie premieres. She loves every second—until someone tries to kill her.
And there are no second takes in real life.

Thank you so much Netgalley for sending me a free copy of HOLLYWOOD HOMICIDE in exchange for an honest review. This book is due for release on August 8th & I’m so excited to read it!

33128455

NIGHT SWIMMING by Steph Bowe

Imagine being the only two seventeen-year-olds in a small town. That’s life for Kirby Arrow—named after the most dissenting judge in Australia’s history—and her best friend Clancy Lee, would-be musical star.
Clancy wants nothing more than to leave town and head for the big smoke, but Kirby is worried: her family has a history of leaving. She hasn’t heard from her father since he left when she was a baby. Shouldn’t she stay to help her mother with the goat’s-milk soap-making business, look after her grandfather who suffers from dementia, be an apprentice carpenter to old Mr Pool? And how could she leave her pet goat, Stanley, her dog Maude, and her cat Marianne?
But two things happen that change everything for Kirby. She finds an article in the newspaper about her father, and Iris arrives in town. Iris is beautiful, wears crazy clothes, plays the mandolin, and seems perfect, really, thinks Kirby. Clancy has his heart set on winning over Iris. Trouble is Kirby is also falling in love with Iris…

Thank you so much Text YA Publishing for sending me a copy of NIGHT SWIMMING in exchange for an honest review. This is on my TBR for the end of March/start of April, as this releases on April 3rd and hopefully I’ll have a review published by the release date. If not, I’ll definitely try to give it a read in April!

the paths we choose

THE PATHS WE CHOOSE by Maria Hollis

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.
Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

Thank you so much Maria Hollis for sending me a copy of this book for review! YOU GUYS, OMG. You have no idea how excited/happy I was when I got this book. THE MELODY OF YOU AND ME is one of the cutest NA and f/f books I’ve ever read in my entire life & it’s very easily one of my favourite books of 2017. I’ve already read this book, and you can find my review for it here.

Physical copies

img_9201

THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend, Khalil, at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.
Soon afterward, Khalil’s death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Starr’s best friend at school suggests he may have had it coming. When it becomes clear the police have little interest in investigating the incident, protesters take to the streets and Starr’s neighborhood becomes a war zone. What everyone wants to know is: What really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.
But what Starr does—or does not—say could destroy her community. It could also endanger her life.

So I actually got the US hardcover edition of this book in March but I read the UK paperback in February! I don’t have a cohesive review for this book written on my blog & I’m not going to link to my horrible Goodreads review but just know that this book is absolutely phenomenal and so so important and it is definitely a must-read.

the fifth seaon

THE FIFTH SEASON by N.K. Jemisin

THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS… FOR THE LAST TIME.
A season of endings has begun.
It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world’s sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.
It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

I have heard sooooo many good things about this book that when I spotted it in the bookstore at the start of March, I just knew I’d have to buy it! I don’t read a lot of adult fantasy so I’m a little worried about how I’m going to handle it, but I’ve heard so many amazing things that I’m sure I’ll love it. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to read it in April and fingers crossed I love it as much as everyone else seems to!

star touched queen

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…
But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

I am 100% scared to read this book, mostly because it’s such a popular YA fantasy & hype like that freaks me out. I’ve also heard some kinda mixed things about it, but most of the people I trust really enjoyed it so I am excited to see how I feel when I get around to reading it! Funny story about this one: the paperback for this book here in Australia is super expensive (like over $20) so when I found it for $14 I knew I really had to buy it. Then, of course, I got home & checked out how much the ebook was and it was on sale for $4!!! Could’ve saved myself $10 and bought a few ebooks but y’know, the pretty physical copy will be worth it in the end, considering how many beautiful bookstagram shots I can take! Also, I’ll probably put this off until the paperback of A CROWN OF WISHES comes out so that I can binge them both!

Ida

IDA by Alison Evans

Ida struggles more than other young people to work this out. She can shift between parallel universes, allowing her to follow alternative paths.
One day Ida sees a shadowy, see-through doppelganger of herself on the train. She starts to wonder if she’s actually in control of her ability, and whether there are effects far beyond what she’s considered.
How can she know, anyway, whether one universe is ultimately better than another? And what if the continual shifting causes her to lose what is most important to her, just as she’s discovering what that is, and she can never find her way back?

I’ve been wanting to read some more #LoveOzYA diverse books but haven’t been able to find a lot that interest me- until I found this gem. I think I saw some Aussie bloggers talking about it back in January or February and I kinda checked it out but didn’t pay much attention until I saw Jananee’s Q&A + review and decided I just needed to have it! Now, I’m super excited to read this & see what I think! I actually started reading this on a plane trip though I only read one chapter. I’m hoping to finish it off in April.

piecing me together

PIECING ME TOGETHER by Renée Watson

Jade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she’s ever going to succeed. Her mother says she has to take every opportunity. She has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for “at-risk” girls. Except really, it’s for black girls. From “bad” neighborhoods.
But Jade doesn’t need support. And just because her mentor is black doesn’t mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.
Friendships, race, privilege, identity—this compelling and thoughtful story explores the issues young women face.

I read THIS SIDE OF HOME by Watson in February as one of the books I wanted to read for Black History Month and after finishing, I decided I wanted to read every YA or adult book Watson writes. Not to mention this book has such a goddamn gorgeous cover that if I weren’t already excited to read it because I’d read Watson’s previous work, it’s possible I would have bought this simply as a cover-buy! So so excited to read this next month and I’m 100% sure I’m going to love it.

more happy than not

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT by Adam Silvera

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again—but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

I don’t think I’ve heard a single bad thing about Adam Silvera’s books. MORE HAPPY THAN NOT has been on my radar for as long as I can remember, so I’m very very excited to finally have this one in my hands and be able to understand the hype! I’ll be buddy reading this with a couple friends on bookstagram, so I’m really excited to read with them and see what we all think!

hiaylm

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME by Adam Silvera

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.
To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.
If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

I bought this for pretty much the same reasons as MORE HAPPY THAN NOT. I’ve heard only amazing things about HIAYLM as well & this has been on my radar ever since I went off on someone on goodreads for saying the #ownvoices OCD rep in this wasn’t realistic. I’ve heard Silvera’s books are heartbreakers though, so I’ll definitely need to be in the mood to read them. Nonetheless, I’m so very excited to finally own this books!

the inheritance trilogy

THE INHERITANCE TRILOGY (1-3.5) by N.K. Jeminsin

A REALM OF GODS AND MORTALS.
Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.

I don’t usually get omnibus editions of books because more times than not, they end up really annoying me and they’re uncomfortable to hold. I’ve heard great things about Jeminsin’s work though, and I feel like her books are the kind I will want to binge read (plus the omnibus edition was cheaper than buying them separately). Super excited to see how I feel about these!

small angry planet

THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET by Becky Chambers

Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the starchart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.
But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.
Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.

I have heard so many good things about this one that I just had to buy it. It’s been recommended to me so many times that I’ve lost count, and at this point, I have such high expectations! I really want to read more diverse SFF so I’m really excited to see what I think of this one! I’ll be buddy reading this with a friend on twitter in May so I’m even more excited to chat about it whilst we’re reading!

eBooks

IMG_9251

YOU’RE WELCOME UNIVERSE by Whitney Gardner

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.
Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.
Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

I heard a lot about this book on Twitter prior to its release & heard great things from friends I trusted who read an ARC of this book, so I just knew I had to preorder it! You can find my review & all of my thoughts about this book here.

IMG_9253

A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson

Long after the Towers left the world but before the dragons came to Daluça, the emperor brought his delegation of gods and diplomats to Olorum. As the royalty negotiates over trade routes and public services, the divinity seeks arcane assistance among the local gods.
Aqib bgm Sadiqi, fourth-cousin to the royal family and son of the Master of Beasts, has more mortal and pressing concerns. His heart has been captured for the first time by a handsome Daluçan soldier named Lucrio. in defiance of Saintly Canon, gossiping servants, and the furious disapproval of his father and brother, Aqib finds himself swept up in a whirlwind romance. But neither Aqib nor Lucrio know whether their love can survive all the hardships the world has to throw at them.

I bought this because the Keep It Diverse Book Club picked it as their book of the month this month and because I’d heard so many great things about this book! I was planning to read it in March but unfortunately, I never got around to reading it. I’ll definitely be picking it up in the next few months though!

american street

AMERICAN STREET by Ibi Zoboi

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

I’ve heard amazing things about this book from pretty much every person who’s read it. I was planning to read it this month if I finished all the books officially on my TBR but I didn’t get around to reading it. It’ll definitely be on my April TBR though as I’ll be buddy reading it with Ava @ Bookishness and Tea and I’m super excited for us to read it together!

chameleon moonthe lifeline signal

CHAMELEON MOON and THE LIFELINE SIGNAL by RoAnna Sylver

The city of Parole is burning. Like Venice slips into the sea, Parole crumbles into fire.
The entire population inside has been quarantined, cut off from the rest of the world, and left to die – directly over the open flame. Eye in the Sky, a deadly and merciless police force ensures no one escapes. Ever. All that’s keeping Parole alive is faith in the midst of horrors and death, trust in the face of desperation… and their fantastic, terrifying, and beautiful superhuman abilities.
Regan, stealth and reconnaissance expert with a lizard’s scales and snake’s eyes, is haunted by ten years of anxiety, trauma and terror, and he’s finally reached his limit. His ability to disappear into thin air isn’t enough: he needs an escape, and he’ll do anything for a chance. Unluckily for him, Hans, a ghostly boy with a chilling smile, knows just the thing to get one. It starts with a little murder.
But instead of ending a man’s life, Regan starts a new one of his own. He turns away from that twisted path, and runs into Evelyn, fearless force on stage and sonic-superheroic revolutionary on the streets. Now Regan has a choice – and a chance to not only escape from Parole, but unravel the mystery deep in its burning heart. And most of all, discover the truth about their own entwining pasts.
They join forces with Evelyn’s family: the virtuosic but volatile Danae, who breathes life into machines, and her wife Rose, whose compassionate nature and power over healing vines and defensive thorns will both be vital to survive this nightmare. Then there’s Zilch, a cool and level-headed person made of other dead people, and Finn, one of Parole’s few remaining taxi drivers, who causes explosions whenever he feels anything but happy.
Separately they’d never survive, much less uncover the secret of Parole’s eternally-burning fire. Together, they have a chance. Unfortunately, Hans isn’t above playing dirty, lying, cheating, manipulating… and holding Regan’s memories hostage until he gets his way.
Parole’s a rough place to live. But they’re not dead yet. If they can survive the imminent cataclysmic disaster, they might just stay that way…

I bought CHAMELEON MOON on RoAnna’s birthday to show my support for her and her work. I’d heard amazing things about this over the last couple weeks of February, especially from Luci and the others participating in AceBookClub. THE LIFELINE SIGNAL was only released this month and I figured I would buy it so I could binge the first and second books together! This sounds like a wonderfully diverse & unique sci-fi series so I’m very excited to see what I think!

IMG_9256

QUEENS OF GEEK by Jen Wilde

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.
Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.
While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.
Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

I first heard about this book months ago when Ava hyped it after this book got her out of a reading slump. Ever since then & getting to know Jen on Twitter, I’ve had this book on my radar & have been so keen to read it. I read it this month and absolutely adored it and I’ll be throwing this rec at everybody for months to come! (Because I’ve been slacking off lately, I haven’t written my review yet but it should be up soon!)

IMG_9252

THE GAUNTLET by Karuna Riazi

A trio of friends from New York City find themselves trapped inside a mechanical board game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves and generations of other children in this action-packed debut that’s a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair.
When twelve-year-old Farah and her two best friends get sucked into a mechanical board game called The Gauntlet of Blood and Sand—a puzzle game akin to a large Rubik’s cube—they know it’s up to them to defeat the game’s diabolical architect in order to save themselves and those who are trapped inside, including her baby brother Ahmed. But first they have to figure out how.
Under the tutelage of a lizard guide named Henrietta Peel and an aeronaut Vijay, the Farah and her friends battle camel spiders, red scorpions, grease monkeys, and sand cats as they prepare to face off with the maniacal Lord Amari, the man behind the machine. Can they defeat Amari at his own game…or will they, like the children who came before them, become cogs in the machine?

I don’t really read a lot of Middle Grade but when I saw this book floating around Twitter, I knew I had to read it when it was released. Karuna has also very quickly become one of my favourite people on Twitter & I admire her a lot so, of course, I knew I had to read this. This only just came out (yesterday for me but today for most people) and I’m already 15% through and I’m loving it. I’ve heard great things so far from everyone who read ARCs and I loved Jumanji as a kid so I can’t want to dive in properly!

peter darling

PETER DARLING by Austin Chant

Ten years ago, Peter Pan left Neverland to grow up, leaving behind his adolescent dreams of boyhood and resigning himself to life as Wendy Darling. Growing up, however, has only made him realize how inescapable his identity as a man is.
But when he returns to Neverland, everything has changed: the Lost Boys have become men, and the war games they once played are now real and deadly. Even more shocking is the attraction Peter never knew he could feel for his old rival, Captain Hook—and the realization that he no longer knows which of them is the real villain.

I read COFFEE BOY by Chant earlier in the year & really enjoyed it, so I’m really looking forward to this one. I also love LGBTQIAP+ retellings so I’m excited to see how I feel about it. I’ve heard nothing but great things so far so my expectations are certainly high, but I’m sure I’ll end up loving it!

amina's voice

AMINA’S VOICE by Hena Khan

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.” Does Amina need to start changing too? Or hiding who she is to fit in? While Amina grapples with these questions, she is devastated when her local mosque is vandalized.
Amina’s Voice brings to life the joys and challenges of a young Pakistani American and highlights the many ways in which one girl’s voice can help bring a diverse community together to love and support each other.

As I said previously, I definitely don’t read a lot of middle grade but I am so excited for this book! I’ve heard absolutely great things about this so far & I’m really keen to read it soon! Also, can we talk about how amazing that cover is? *heart eyes*

the bone witch

THE BONE WITCH by Rin Chupeco

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.
Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.
Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

I don’t actually know a lot about this book. I bought it mainly because I’d heard great things about it from people I really trust on twitter. So although I don’t know much about it, I’m really excited to get to this soon because so many people I trust have loved it!

Kindle Unlimited (or otherwise free eBooks)

cinder ella

CINDER ELLA by S.T. Lynn

Ella is transgender. She’s known since she was young; being a woman just fit better. She was happier in skirts than trousers, but that was before her stepmother moved in. Eleanor can’t stand her, and after Ella’s father passes she’s forced to revert to Cole, a lump of a son. She cooks, she cleans, and she tolerates being called the wrong name for the sake of a roof over her head. Where else can she go?
An opportunity to attend the royal ball transforms Ella’s life. For the first time, strangers see a woman when she walks down the stairs. While Princess Lizabetta invited Cole to the ball, she doesn’t blink an eye when Cinderella is the one who shows. The princess is elegant, bold, and everything Ella never knew she wanted. For a moment she glimpses a world that can accept her, and she holds on tight.
She should have known it wouldn’t last. Dumped by her wicked stepmother on the farthest edge of the kingdom, Ella must find a way to let go of the princess and the beautiful life they shared for an hour. She’ll never find her way back. But it’s hard to forget the greatest night of her life when every rose she plants is a reminder.

I haven’t heard a lot about this book but I saw it recommended by one of my fave authors on twitter & when I saw that it was available on Kindle Unlimited, I snatched it right up. A retelling of Cinderella with a transgender main character? Sign me up!

hello world

HELLO WORLD by Tiffany Rose and Alexandra Tauber

When a technology company can buy your personal freedom Scott is a hacker ready to prove that a single voice can be a powerful weapon.
Scott’s skills as a surveillance expert are useful when he’s breaking down firewalls. But hacktivism isn’t enough; he’s going after the holy grail—UltSyn’s Human Information Drives, human assets implanted with cerebral microchips. After digging deeper into restricted databases, he discovers that those who enlist with UltSyn get far more than they bargained for. Plunged into a world of human trafficking and corporate espionage, Scott is determined to find his sister, no matter the cost. But when the information reveals the people closest to him have been working for UltSyn all along, he has to find her—before UltSyn finds him.

I honestly got this mostly because I’m mutuals with Tiffany on Twitter and I wanted to support her work. Also, whilst I make an effort to read diversely, I haven’t read any books with ace spec rep & I need to change that. This also just sounds like it’s going to be an all-round cool & fun book to read so I cannot wait to jump into it!

Discussion

How many books did you buy in March? Do you spot any of your faves on this haul?

Thanks for reading!

until next time

4 thoughts on “Book Haul: March ’17

  1. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms says:

    Magnificent haul, Taryn! I really want to read The Bone Witch soon, and I can’t wait for my copy to arrive. PETER DARLING IS SO GREAT I LOVED IT SO MUCH. I’m reading A Taste of Honey right now and I’m liking it. I just can’t get into it bc of my book slump *sighs*

    Like

  2. Ravenclaw Book Club says:

    The Hate U Give, More Happy than Not, and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet are definitely on my TBR! And The Fifth Season and American Street look pretty good. 😛 Peter Darling sounds bizarre but interesting!
    I was confused for a moment cause I thought The Inheritance trilogy seemed familiar, then I realised that it’s cause I’ve got The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms on my TBR. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

    Wow Taryn, I thought my book haul was big 😀 Though I don’t include my e-books in my haul. The total of how much I spend on books each month is bad as it is, I don’t want to add even more money to that list. So I’m just going to pretend it’s not there, haha!

    Anyway, I also got The Paths We Choose, History is All You Left Me, Queens of Geeks and The Hate U Give this month. And I bought American Street and The Bone Witch, but those haven’t arrived yet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

