review: THE PATHS WE CHOOSE by M. Hollis

the paths we choose

Title: THE PATHS WE CHOOSE by M. Hollis

Genre: New Adult romance

Goodreads

Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you M. Hollis for providing me with an ARC for the blog tour & in exchange for an honest review!

Release date: April 6th 2017

Synopsis

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.
Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

Review

I had really high hopes and expectations going into this one because I absolutely adored the first book in this companion series. I was not disappointed. TPWC had everything I loved about TMOYAM and more and I will be highly anticipating the remainder of this series!

Characters

I absolutely loved the characters in this one! I really liked Lily from the first book so it was great to get to see her in a main role here. I also really loved Mayte, though I wish we could’ve seen more of their relationship. What we did see, however, was really cute and I loved the mutual respect they had for each other. The last scene, though cliche, was one of my fave NA scenes and I’m super excited to see the two of them in future books.

I’ve mentioned this on twitter, but this series has some of the best female friendships I’ve ever read. Too often in YA and NA we have really problematic, misogynistic tropes when it comes to female characters and friendships but Lillac Town strays far away from those. Lily’s relationship with her roommates is really great and really shows the ups and downs of friendships. I think M. Hollis does an amazing job of writing female characters, and f/f relationships!

Plot

I feel that NA is usually much more character driven than plot driven, so I’m not going to have much to say about the plot. Although there were a few points that were a little choppy, I liked the story and felt that for the most part, it moved smoothly. I think the subplots worked well within the main plot, though I wish the subpolot with Lily and her brother could have been fleshed out a bit more.

Writing

I really love M. Hollis’ writing. She has a way of writing that draws you in right from the beginning and keeps you hooked. I always fall in love with her characters very easily and the way she writes relationships and tugs at your emotions is so well done. Also, I so appreciate the important conversations Hollis has re: racism, discrimination of LGBTQIAP+ people & homophobia, labels and consent. The only thing I wish for is more! I feel like these would be such great full-length novels, though the novellas are still great!

Recommendation

I very highly recommend this NA series to anybody who likes NA and even to anybody who doesn’t like NA. Hollis will draw you in right from the start and keep you rooting for the characters to get together/stay together. I will forever be recommending this series for it’s cute f/f content!

until next time

4 thoughts on “review: THE PATHS WE CHOOSE by M. Hollis

Leave a Reply

