April TBR ’17

Hi lovelies! So we’re coming up to then end of March and I’ve been organising my April TBR for a few days now so I thought I should probably get around to writing it up in a blog post! It’s currently March 30th and I’ve read a total of 7 books. Hopefully I’ll finish my current read by the end of March and then I’ll have read 8!

I didn’t get to read everything I had on my March TBR so I’m hoping my April TBR is a bit more realistic! I’m doing a few buddy reads, plus I also have some book I bought in March that I really want to get to! Hopefully I’ll read more than what’s on this TBR, but we’ll have to see what happens!

Advanced Reader’s Copies (ARCs)

33128455

NIGHT SWIMMING by Steph Bowe

Steph Bowe is back. Night Swimming is a love story with a twist, and a whole lot of heart.
Imagine being the only two seventeen-year-olds in a small town. That’s life for Kirby Arrow—named after the most dissenting judge in Australia’s history—and her best friend Clancy Lee, would-be musical star.
Clancy wants nothing more than to leave town and head for the big smoke, but Kirby is worried: her family has a history of leaving. She hasn’t heard from her father since he left when she was a baby. Shouldn’t she stay to help her mother with the goat’s-milk soap-making business, look after her grandfather who suffers from dementia, be an apprentice carpenter to old Mr Pool? And how could she leave her pet goat, Stanley, her dog Maude, and her cat Marianne?
But two things happen that change everything for Kirby. She finds an article in the newspaper about her father, and Iris arrives in town. Iris is beautiful, wears crazy clothes, plays the mandolin, and seems perfect, really, thinks Kirby. Clancy has his heart set on winning over Iris. Trouble is Kirby is also falling in love with Iris…

This is releasing early on in April (April 3rd) so I’m hoping to get to this soon! I haven’t heard much about it but as I’ve said previously, I really want to start reading more diverse #LoveOzYA and this seems like it’ll be a fun, cute read!

IMG_9248

THE SEAFARER’S KISS by Julia Ember

Having long-wondered what lives beyond the ice shelf, nineteen-year-old mermaid Ersel learns of the life she wants when she rescues and befriends Ragna, a shield-maiden stranded on the mermen’s glacier. But when Ersel’s childhood friend and suitor catches them together, he gives Ersel a choice: say goodbye to Ragna or face justice at the hands of the glacier’s brutal king.
Determined to forge a different fate, Ersel seeks help from Loki. But such deals are never as one expects, and the outcome sees her exiled from the only home and protection she’s known. To save herself from perishing in the barren, underwater wasteland and be reunited with the human she’s come to love, Ersel must try to outsmart the God of Lies.

I had this one on my March TBR, but I didn’t get around to reading it. I’m a bit of a mood reader and I don’t want to force myself to read something I’m not in the mood in and have that negatively affect my experience of a book. This one releases May 4th so I really want to get around to reading it in April. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it so I’m sure I’m going to love it!

Buddy Reads

american street

AMERICAN STREET by Ibi Zoboi

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

AMERICAN STREET was one of the books that wasn’t on my official March TBR but one I was hoping to get to anyway. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to read it this month, however I’ve organised to buddy read this with Ava @ Bookishness and Tea! I’m really excited to be reading this with Ava and I’m super excited to see what we think.

more happy than not

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT by Adam Silvera

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

As I’ve said previously, Adam Silvera’s books have been on my radar for forever and a day but I only just bought them this past month. I’ve heard nothing but great things about both of his books so I’m really really excited to be reading this with a couple friends from bookstagram!

chameleon moon

CHAMELEON MOON by RoAnna Sylver

The city of Parole is burning. Like Venice slips into the sea, Parole crumbles into fire.
The entire population inside has been quarantined, cut off from the rest of the world, and left to die – directly over the open flame. Eye in the Sky, a deadly and merciless police force ensures no one escapes. Ever. All that’s keeping Parole alive is faith in the midst of horrors and death, trust in the face of desperation… and their fantastic, terrifying, and beautiful superhuman abilities.
Regan, stealth and reconnaissance expert with a lizard’s scales and snake’s eyes, is haunted by ten years of anxiety, trauma and terror, and he’s finally reached his limit. His ability to disappear into thin air isn’t enough: he needs an escape, and he’ll do anything for a chance. Unluckily for him, Hans, a ghostly boy with a chilling smile, knows just the thing to get one. It starts with a little murder.
But instead of ending a man’s life, Regan starts a new one of his own. He turns away from that twisted path, and runs into Evelyn, fearless force on stage and sonic-superheroic revolutionary on the streets. Now Regan has a choice – and a chance to not only escape from Parole, but unravel the mystery deep in its burning heart. And most of all, discover the truth about their own entwining pasts.
They join forces with Evelyn’s family: the virtuosic but volatile Danae, who breathes life into machines, and her wife Rose, whose compassionate nature and power over healing vines and defensive thorns will both be vital to survive this nightmare. Then there’s Zilch, a cool and level-headed person made of other dead people, and Finn, one of Parole’s few remaining taxi drivers, who causes explosions whenever he feels anything but happy.
Separately they’d never survive, much less uncover the secret of Parole’s eternally-burning fire. Together, they have a chance. Unfortunately, Hans isn’t above playing dirty, lying, cheating, manipulating… and holding Regan’s memories hostage until he gets his way.
Parole’s a rough place to live. But they’re not dead yet. If they can survive the imminent cataclysmic disaster, they might just stay that way…

I’ve heard some amazing things about this one on twitter, and since the sequel has just been released, I think April will be the perfect time to read this. I’ll be buddy reading this with Laura @ Green Tea & Paperbacks and we’re both so excited to read and discuss this!

wintersong

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…
All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.
But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

I’ve been hearing so many great things about WINTERSONG lately and I’m really keen to hopefully get to it in April! I haven’t been in much of a fantasy mood lately, but I’ll be reading this as a buddy read with a friend from bookstagram, so hopefully we both love it!

Other

piecing me together

PIECING ME TOGETHER by Renée Watson

Jade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she’s ever going to succeed. Her mother says she has to take every opportunity. She has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for “at-risk” girls. Except really, it’s for black girls. From “bad” neighborhoods.
But Jade doesn’t need support. And just because her mentor is black doesn’t mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.

If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know that I loved Watson’s THIS SIDE OF HOME. Ever since reading it in February, I’ve been waiting until I could buy and read this one and I’m just so excited to read it. I’ve heard amazing things from everyone who’s read it so far so my expectations are very high, but I’m 100% sure they’ll be met. Can’t wait to get around to this one this month!

Ida

IDA by Alison Evans

Ida struggles more than other young people to work this out. She can shift between parallel universes, allowing her to follow alternative paths.
One day Ida sees a shadowy, see-through doppelganger of herself on the train. She starts to wonder if she’s actually in control of her ability, and whether there are effects far beyond what she’s considered.
How can she know, anyway, whether one universe is ultimately better than another? And what if the continual shifting causes her to lose what is most important to her, just as she’s discovering what that is, and she can never find her way back?

So I actually started reading this on a plane flight at the start of March but never finished it, so I’m hoping to finish it in April. I haven’t heard much about this, but it’s a diverse #LoveOzYA sci-fi with a unique premise so I’m really excited to dive back in and see how I feel!

Discussion

Okay so that’s everything I have on my April TBR! As I said, hopefully I get to more than what’s on this list, but I’ll have to see how my reading goes for the month.

  • What books do you have on your April TBR?
  • Spot any favourites of yours on this list? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

until next time

9 thoughts on “April TBR ’17

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Great TBR, Taryn! I haven’t read any of these except for More Happy Than Not, which I really, really loved. I hope you enjoy it!
    I’ve also been meaning to read Wintersong, but maybe I’ll get to it when semester break comes along. I hope you have a good reading month. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

    I haven’t read any of these books yet, but I have so many of them on my TBR and they sound amazing!

    I don’t do TBRs myself because I’m a mood reader and never know what I’m going to read next! But I bought tons of diverse books lately and I’m very excited to read them all (even though most of the books haven’t arrived yet).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    You have such a great TBR for April! The only one I’ve read is More Happy Than Not (which I really enjoyed!), but so many of these are on my radar! I’m so excited for The Seafarer’s Kiss. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on American Street, Wintersong, and Chameleon Moon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

