March Wrap-Up 2017

Hey lovelies! I can’t believe we’re already at the end of March already! I didn’t read as many books this month as I read in January and February, but I still read a solid 7 books! I’m still currently reading THE GAUNTLET by Karuna Riazi, but since I won’t be finished it by the time March is over, I unfortunately cannot count it for my wrap-up. I really enjoyed most of the books I read this month, and I’ll list my top 2 at the end of the post! So, lets get to the books I read!

img_9203

PERFECT LIARS by Kimberly Reid

Andrea Faraday is junior class valedictorian at the exclusive Woodruff School, where she was voted Most Likely to Do Everything Right. But looks can be deceiving. When her parents disappear, her life and her Perfect Girl charade begins to crumble, and her scheme to put things right just takes the situation from bad to so much worse. Pretty soon she’s struck up the world’s least likely friendship with the juvenile delinquents at Justice Academy, the last exit on the road to jail and the first stop on the way out.
If she were telling it straight, friendship might not be the right word to describe their alliance, since Drea and her new associates could not be more different. She s rich and privileged; they’re broke and, well, criminal. But Drea’s got a secret: she has more in common with the juvie kids than they d ever suspect. When it turns out they share a common enemy, Drea suggests they join forces to set things right. Sometimes, to save the day, a good girl’s gotta be bad.

Rating: ★★★★

Overall I really enjoyed this one! With a diverse set of characters and and engaging plot, I was hooked very early on. Even better, the writing style made it really easy to follow along and made things even more engaging. I think it’s super important to be engaged from the get-go when it comes to mystery’s and this book did it perfectly! My only complaint is that I felt the ending was a little rushed. You can find mu full review here.

img_9205

BLACK RAINBOW by J.J. McAvoy

After an erotic one-week fling with a musician she meets in a bar, Thea Cunning never expects to see Levi Black again. Then Monday morning comes around, and she discovers that her former lover is not only her professor, but he’s also one of the top criminal lawyers in the state of Massachusetts.
With everyone in class vying to be one of the twelve disciples—a group of twelve students that Professor Black takes under his wing—tensions run high. Thea considers dropping his class, given their passionate week together and their undeniable chemistry. After all, there are other (less infuriatingly sexy) law professors on campus.
But to accomplish her goal and get her father out of prison, Thea knows she needs to learn under the best of the best—and that’s Levi Black.
But can she learn under the best, without being under the best?

Rating: ★★★★½

This was one of the best New Adult books I’ve ever read. It has a fresh romance, an engaging plot and it kept me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning. I didn’t have super high expectations for this one, but even if I did, they would’ve been blown away. I’m really impressed with this one because most New Adult romances I’ve read have been very mediocre. This just proves I just need to expand my reading to read more diverse New Adult romances. You can find my full review here.

everything leads to you 2

EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU by Nina LaCour

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.
Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

Rating: ★★★

I had high expectations for this one and unfortunately, I was very let down. The main character was shallow, the plot was predictable and whilst I did enjoy the writing, it could’ve been improved a lot with some better character and plot development. You can find my full review here.

IMG_9255

UNDER ROSE-TAINTED SKIES by Louise Gornall

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.
But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.
Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

Rating: ★★★★

I am totally not surprised that I thoroughly enjoyed this one. This is an #ownvoices book where the main character has agoraphobia, anxiety and OCD. Since this book also deals with some self-harm, I must admit that it was hard to read at times, but for the most part, I really enjoyed it. The writing style is definitely either hit and miss, but it worked for me. You can read my full review here.

the paths we choose

THE PATHS WE CHOOSE by M. Hollis

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.
Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much M. Hollis for sending me an eARC of THE PATHS WE CHOOSE for the blog tour & in exchange for an honest review.  I had really high hopes and expectations going into this one because I absolutely adored the first book in this companion series. I was not disappointed. TPWC had everything I loved about TMOYAM and more and I will be highly anticipating the remainder of this series! This is one of the NA series I will forever be recommending. Check out my full review here.

IMG_9256

QUEENS OF GEEK by Jen Wilde

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a cute & fun read! I loved all of the characters, the plot and really loved the writing. I think every book lover will relate to the fangirling and the geek culture portrayed in this book. It was heartwarming and the romance will sweep you off your feet. This far exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait to read more of Wilde’s work! You can read all of my thoughts here.

margot sanchez

THE EDUCATION OF MARGOT SANCHEZ by Lilliam Rivera

THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

Rating: ★★★★

This was one I randomly picked up towards the end of March because I wanted to read and review a book by an #ownvoices Latinx author. I read this really quickly and thought it was pretty engaging, but I felt like something lacked. You know when you can’t really work out what you didn’t like about a book, you just know it wasn’t a full 5 stars? That’s this one for me. I still recommend you give it a read, and you can read my full review here.

Favourites

The top 2 books I read in March are easily THE PATHS WE CHOOSE and QUEENS OF GEEK. I really loved the romance in both of these and both were just fabulous reads.

TPWC is such a cute f/f NA novella, and as I’ve previously said, I’ll definitely read anything M. Hollis writes. Keep an eye out for an author Q&A I have coming on April 6th!

QoG was super cute and nerdy and really resonated with me as a book lover and a fangirl and it’s one I really recommend everybody read.

Discussion

There we have it, those were the 7 books I read in March. What books did you read in March? What were your favourites? Do you spot any of your favourite books on this wrap-up?

Thanks for reading!

until next time

 

 

3 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up 2017

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Thank you for bringing Perfect Liars to my attention! It sounds like exactly my kind of book. Just added it to my TBR 😀 I’ve also been meaning to read Under Rose Tainted Skies and Everything Leads to You for a while now! Sorry that the later disappointed you D: It’s always the worst when you have high expectations and are let down. I’ll definitely be going in with a bit more caution now 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

