April Library Haul ’17

Hey lovelies! Long time no post! I’ve been in a bit of a blogging and reading slump since reading and reviewing QUEENS OF GEEK, but I feel like I’m slowly getting back in the hang of things now.

If you weren’t already aware, I moved from NSW to Brisbane at the start of April and so I signed up to my local library. My local library is literally a 5 minute walk, so I’m definitely going to be taking advantage of this opportunity to save some money & borrow books instead. My local library also has an awesome inter-library loan system, and there are some really awesome books I can request to be transferred to my library, so I did that for a lot of books this month too. Also, my library loans ebooks and audiobooks, so I borrowed one ebook this month too. Lets get into it!

wtmwo

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town. But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

I’ve heard absolutely amazing things about all of Anna-Marie McLemore’s books so far, so when I saw that my local library had WTMWO I snatched it right up. I’m hoping to read this either at the end of this month or very early next month. Can’t wait to see what I think!

swwl

SEVEN WAYS WE LIE by Riley Redgate

Paloma High School is ordinary by anyone’s standards. It’s got the same cliques, the same prejudices, the same suspect cafeteria food. And like every high school, every student has something to hide—from Kat, the thespian who conceals her trust issues onstage, to Valentine, the neurotic genius who’s planted the seed of a school scandal.

When that scandal bubbles over, and rumors of a teacher-student affair surface, everyone starts hunting for someone to blame. For the seven unlikely allies at the heart of it all, the collision of their seven ordinary-seeming lives results in extraordinary change.

So I’ve been hearing awesome things about Redgate’s sophomore novel, NOTEWORTHY, and so I wanted to read this one before her new one was released. I wasn’t a huge fan of this one, but I didn’t hate it either. I read this like a week ago, so I’ll try to have a mini review up soon!

saga

SAGA vol. 6 by Fiona Staples and Brian K. Vaughan

I’m not going to put the synopsis for this one here, only because it’s the 6th volume in a comic series. I had a lot of fun with the first 5 volumes of this series and read them all so quickly. I saw on the online library catalogue that my library had this one so I thought I’d give it a go! I’m hoping to like this one as much as the previous 5.

draekora

DRAEKORA (Medoran Chronicles #3) by Lynette Noni

I’m also not going to put the synopsis for this one, because its the 3rd book in a series. This series is so much fun! There’s magic and awesome friendships and I think I remember a little romance brewing in the second book so I’m excited to continue this #LoveOzYA series and see how I like it. This sort of reminds me of Harry Potter because of a main character discovering a magic world and it also has an awesome magic school!!

ashala wolf

THE INTERROGATION OF ASHALA WOLF by Ambelin Kwaymullina

Ashala Wolf has been captured by Chief Administrator Neville Rose. A man who is intent on destroying Ashala’s Tribe — the runaway Illegals hiding in the Firstwood. Injured and vulnerable and with her Sleepwalker ability blocked, Ashala is forced to succumb to the machine that will pull secrets from her mind.

And right beside her is Justin Connor, her betrayer, watching her every move.

Will the Tribe survive the interrogation of Ashala Wolf?

If you’ve been following me a while, you’ll know I love reading diverse #LoveOzYA, and this is one I’m really excited for. I’ve heard some great things about this one, and I’m also reading it for the Diversity Bingo 2017 challenge! This is definitely on my May TBR and hopefully it lives up to my expectations!

radio silence

RADIO SILENCE by Alice Oseman

What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?

Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside.

But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken.

Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down. Suffocating with guilt, she knows that she has to confront her past…

She has to confess why Carys disappeared…

Meanwhile at uni, Aled is alone, fighting even darker secrets.

It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness.

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.

I’ve been seeing this one around a lot from both Diversity December Bingo and Diversity Bingo 2017, so I’m really hyped to read it. I think I may have heard some not so great things about the way it was discovered that one of the characters is demisexual, which is disappointing. Hopefully I’ll have read this in May and will have a review up within the month!

girl mans up

GIRL MANS UP by M-E Girard

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she’s always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means she’s trying to be a boy—that she should quit trying to be something she’s not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty. But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth–that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she’ll have to man up.

I haven’t actually heard a whole lot about GMU but M-E Girard is one of my fave people on twitter. This was also recommended to me by someone whose recommendations I definitely trust, so I’m really looking forward to reading this!

every heart

EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

I have heard nothing but great things about both this book and it’s representation of asexuality. I haven’t read any books with ace rep before, so I’m really excited for this one. It sounds like such a fun book and it’s a lot shorter than I’d expected (only 100 and something pages!) so I should have it finished in a day or two sometime in May!

outrun the moon

OUTRUN THE MOON by Stacey Lee

San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help—she still has the “bossy” cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

I don’t really read a lot of historical fiction, but I think that’s because I haven’t read a lot of good ones! I read one of Stacey Lee’s books earlier this year and absolutely adored it, so I’m now really excited to jump into this one. I loved Lee’s writing, so if her writing is consistent, I already know I’m going to love that about this one!

furthermore

FURTHERMORE by Tahereh Mafi

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. It will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

To be completely honest, I don’t really know anything about this book. I haven’t actually even read that synopsis- I just copy + pasted it from goodreads. I read SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi quite a few years ago and I remember enjoying it, so I thought I’d give her middle grade book a try! Also, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t pick this up for the beautiful cover. Hopefully the inside is as beautiful as the outside!

Discussion

There we have it! That’s all of the books I borrowed from the library this month! I wish libraries got the recognition they deserve- they’re such an awesome resource with a surprisingly great range of books!

Do you use your local library? And have you read any of the books on this list? If so, what were your thoughts?

Thank you for reading!

until next time

3 thoughts on “April Library Haul ’17

  1. Kitty Maschan says:

    I practically live at my local library, though it’s a bit more of a walk than 5 minutes. I’ve read Furthermore and really enjoyed it. 🤓 It’s MG so it didn’t take long, but it was enough to distract me from the weather (I read it during a hurricane 😂). I have quite a few of the others on my TBR but I’m going to intentionally put myself into a slump in about a week so…. we’ll see. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    Ooh, great haul! I adore When the Moon Was Ours and Every Heart a Doorway– they’re both among my favorite books. Furthermore was super adorable, too. I just got Radio Silence, and I cannot wait to read it! I neeeed to get to Saga vol. 6 at some point. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on Seven Ways We Lie! I loved Noteworthy, but have yet to read that one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

