Top 5 Books Featuring F/F Relationships!

Hi everyone! Long time no post! I’ve spoken a bit on my twitter and my instagram about how I’ve been in a slump, but I am kicking some reading butt in June so far! I’ve decided I’m going to use my blog mostly for TBRs, wrap-ups, book hauls, recommendation posts and discussions, and I’ll write all of my reviews over on Goodreads. In honor of pride month, and the fact that this community always seems to prioritise m/m romances, I thought I’d write a post with some of my fave books with f/f relationships!

img_5638

NOT YOUR SIDEKICK by C.B. Lee

Welcome to Andover… where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef-up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, who Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

I don’t think it’s possible for me to NOT have this book as my first recommendation. If you’ve been following me for a while, you’d probably know that this was one of my favourite books of 2016 (if not THE favourite). It’s a really fun superhero/supervillain book with such a cute f/f romance. So much banter and cuteness, and ahh I just really want everyone to read this, okay!! Also- it’s ownvoices for bisexuality which is awesome.

img_7397

THE MELODY OF YOU AND ME by M. Hollis

After dropping out of university and breaking up with her girlfriend of three years, Chris Morrison’s life is now a mind-numbing mess. She doubts that working at the small neighborhood bookstore is going to change that. The rest of her time is spent mostly playing guitar and ignoring the many messages her mother keeps sending her about going back to college.
But one day, an adorable and charming new bookseller waltzes her way into Chris’s life. Josie Navarro is sweet, flirty, and she always has a new book in her hands. The two girls start a fast friendship that, for Chris, holds the promise of something more. But is she reading too much into this or is it possible that Josie feels the same way?

I’m only putting the first book in this blog post, but I would just as highly recommend THE PATHS WE CHOOSE as well. TMOYAM was the first f/f NA book I ever read and I absolutely fell in love. Not only does this series portray healthy, cute f/f romances, but it also portrays happy, healthy and strong female friendships. TMOYAM and TPWC are both novellas that you can easily read in a day! If you’re ever feeling like a cute romance, this is definitely the place to go! Also, TMOYAM has a pansexual MC and a romance between coworkers at a bookstore- what more could a bookworm want?!

img_8603

THE ABYSS SURROUNDS US by Emily Skrutskie

For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training ever since she could walk, raising the genetically-engineered beasts to defend ships as they cross the pirate-infested NeoPacific. But when the pirate queen Santa Elena swoops in on Cas’s first solo mission and snatches her from the bloodstained decks, Cas’s dream of being a full-time trainer seems dead in the water.

There’s no time to mourn. Waiting for her on the pirate ship is an unhatched Reckoner pup. Santa Elena wants to take back the seas with a monster of her own, and she needs a proper trainer to do it. She orders Cas to raise the pup, make sure he imprints on her ship, and, when the time comes, teach him to fight for the pirates. If Cas fails, her blood will be the next to paint the sea.

Kick-ass sea pirates and an awesome f/f romance? Say no more! I had loads of fun reading this futuristic (sci-fi?) novel, and think its highly under appreciated! One of the things I adored about the f/f romance in this is that the issue of consent was discussed. There is an unequal power imbalance between Cas and Swift and I really appreciated that they both agreed not to take anything further until they were on equal footing. Yay for YA talking about consent!!

IMG_9256

QUEENS OF GEEK by Jen Wilde

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

This book is pure fluff and it’s one I recommend to anybody who loves to nerd out! Charlie and Alyssa’s relationship was really really cute, and I really love that this is getting a lot of hype. Literally all I want to say about this book is that its so so so cute and I’ll just always be recommending it to everyone!

27 hours

27 HOURS by Tristina Wright

Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret.

They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

27 Hours is a sweeping, thrilling story featuring a stellar cast of queer teenagers battling to save their homes and possibly every human on Sahara as the clock ticks down to zero.

This is only a very recent read for me (I finished it like 3 days ago?) but it’s very easily become one of my new favourite reads. This is such a fun sci-fi book that y’all have to get your hands on in October! I’m 100% going to be promoting the heck out of it and buying it as a present for all my IRL friends/family who read. I just love it so much. The f/f relationship is so pure and they have so much respect for each other and they communicate well and one of the girls is transgender!!! It’s a kick-ass sci-fi read with awesome, lovable characters and you do not want to miss out!

There we have my top 5 books with f/f relationships! I haven’t read as many as I’ve wanted to, so I’m going to finish this blog post up with a few books I have on my TBR that feature f/f relationships!

how to make a wish

HOW TO MAKE A WISH

the second mango

THE SECOND MANGO

knit one

KNIT ONE GIRL TWO

juliet takes a breath

JULIET TAKES A BREATH

daybreak rising

DAYBREAK RISING

Thanks so much for reading!

until next time

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Books Featuring F/F Relationships!

  1. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    Looooved Queens of Geek, The Abyss Surrounds Us, and The Melody of You and Me. 27 Hours is one of my most-anticipated releases of the year! And How to Make a Wish is on my TBR this month; I cannot wait to get to that one. Great list, Taryn!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. breenysbooks says:

    I can’t wait to read Queens of Geeks and Not Your Sidekick. This is such an awesome list that you’ve put together!!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

