The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag!

Hi lovelies! I was tagged by Rea and Cassie to do this book tag! I’ve been seeing it a bunch on Youtube and thought it’d be a really fun tag to talk about some of my fave books of the year + my anticipated reads for the 2nd half of the year. I’m not sure who would be interested in doing this, so if you’re reading this & you’re interested, consider yourself tagged.

1. The Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

img_9201IMG_9256

I’ve read a total of 45 books so far this year, and most of them have been between 3.5-5 stars. I’ve read a lot of really good books this year, so there was no way I could only pick one favourite. Both THE HATE U GIVE and QUEENS OF GEEK are YA contemporary reads. THE HATE U GIVE is an #ownvoices novel that follows the life of African-American sixteen year old Starr Carter after she witnesses the murder of her unarmed childhood best friend at the hands of a white police officer. This book was the perfect mix of serious topics and humour, and it’s a very touching and very important read so I cannot recommend this enough. QUEENS OF GEEK is also an #ownvoices novel for anxiety, bisexuality and autism representation. QUEENS OF GEEK follows three friends in their endeavors at SupaCon. This is so perfect for anyone who loves nerding out and for anyone who loves cute romances. Definitely recommend this if you’re looking for a cute contemporary to get you out of a reading slump!

2. Your Favourite Sequel of 2017.

binit home

When trying to decide which book I wanted to choose for this one, I realised I’ve only read two sequels in the entire year so far. (I know what I’ll be trying to do in the second half of the year). I had to go with HOME (BINTI #2) for this one though because I was really blown away with how much I enjoyed this. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book in this series, but I found myself really loving this sequel and now I’m highly anticipating the next installment to the series!

3. A New Release You Haven’t Read But Want To

want

I’ve been hearing really amazing things about WANT lately, and so I had to choose this one. WANT is on my July TBR, so I’m hoping I read read it sooner rather than later. I’ve been meaning to read one of Cindy Pon’s books for so long & this one just sounds right up my alley. I honestly don’t know much about what WANT is about, but I know it’s a sci-fi about Jason Zhou, who infiltrates the lives of the wealthy in his society. As I said, I’ve heard amazing things about this one, even from people who aren’t generally fans of sci-fi so I’m just really keen to read this soon!

4. Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half Of The Year

wonder woman

I was going to pick 27 HOURS by Tristina Wright for this one, but since I’ve already read the ARC, I thought I’d pick something else. WONDER WOMAN: WARBRINGER is the book I chose because I’ve loved everything Leigh Bardugo has written previous to this. Bardugo is easily one of my favourite authors, not only because of her writing and books but because of herself as a person. WONDER WOMAN: WARBRINGER sounds super badass and right up my alley so I’m just really keen to read this and see Bardugo’s take on this wonderful superhero!

5. Your Biggest Disappointment

tmahacsf

I’d be lying if I didn’t go with TELL ME AGAIN HOW A CRUSH SHOULD FEEL. This is the only book I’ve given 1 star in the entire of 2017 so far. I was really not a fan of this book, and it was my most disappointing because I’d seen it recommended so much as a good f/f romance when… that is not what you get. Spoiler: the person you think is the LI turns out to be the antagonist. Content & trigger warnings for sexual assault, biphobia, queerphobia & forced coming out.

6. Biggest Surprise Of The Year

female of the species

I’d heard good things about THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES before I’d read it, but I was still skeptical going in because I hadn’t heard anything from anyone I solidly trusted. I was very pleasantly surprised with how much i enjoyed this. Definitely a different contemporary to anything I’ve read before, and definitely darker. Trigger warning for sexual assault and violence.

7. Fave New To You Or Debut Author

Jen Wilde and Renée Watson. As previously stated with QUEENS OF GEEK, I just really loved it and now want to read anything Jen writes. I read two of Watson’s books this year, PIECING ME TOGETHER and THIS SIDE OF HOME and I really loved them both. Very excited to see what else Watson has in store!

8. Your New Fictional Crush

Uh… I don’t really get fictional crushes, so I’m gonna make this my new OTP which is Jude and Rumor from 27 HOURS by Tristina Wright. I also love Nyx & Dahlia from the same book. All the relationships are just so well-written and I just love them all.

9. New Favourite Character

I have a few new fave characters- like all of the 27 HOURS cast. But, I also really loved Sissix & Kizzy from THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET. Their personalities were just great and I thought they were badass, really well-rounded characters.

10. A Book That Made You Cry

more happy than not

I’ve been trying not to read too many sad books this year, so MORE HAPPY THAN NOT is actually the only book that’s made me cry. I told myself I was prepared for anything because everyone always told me this book would crush me but alas, I still cried after I closed the book.

11. A Book That Made You Happy

draekora

There are a lot of books that made me happy in the first half of the year, but I’m gonna go with DRAEKORA. The first & second books in this series, AKARNAE and RAELIA were some of my fave books of last year. I really love the setting and the characters in this world and so jumping back into this world again felt like a nice, warm hug.

12. Fave Book To Movie Adaptation You’ve Seen This Year

Uh… I don’t really think I’ve seen any book to movie adaptations this year that would make it onto a favourites. I wasn’t a fan of the one I can think of that I did see.

13. Fave Book Post Published This Year

I decided to go with my post about my Top 5 Books Feat. F/F Relationships. This post got a lot of views and I love sharing my faves with people. It also motivated me to read a couple of the books I put at the end that were on my TBR!

14. Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought/Received

piecing me together

Hands down have to go with PIECING ME TOGETHER by Renée Watson. This was not only a beautiful book on the outside, but also a beautiful book on the inside. I just really love everything about this- but that cover is just to die for. *insert heart eye emoji*

15. What Are Some Books You Need To Read Before The End Of The Year?

I have quite a few books I need to read before the end of the year, but my top 5 will be:

  • A GATHERING OF SHADOWS + A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab
  • NOT YOUR VILLAIN by C.B. Lee
  • LAST CALL AT THE NIGHTSHADE LOUNGE by Paul Krueger
  • THE BLACK PRISM by Brent Weeks
  • AMERICAN STREET by Ibi Zoboi

Discussion

And there we have the mid-year book freakout tag! This was so much fun to do and I hope you enjoyed reading! As I said at the top, if you haven’t done this tag & feel like doing it, consider yourself tagged by me. If you have done this tag, send me a link to yours & I’ll check it out!

Thanks so much for reading!

until next time

 

7 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag!

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I loved Queens of Geek so much 😍 Really glad you enjoyed The Female of the Species! That book surprised me too. I was so interested in the premise, but had no idea how much I was going to love it. I hope you enjoy the rest of the Shades of Magic series!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

