Fave Books of 2017 (So Far)

Hey everyone! We’re a little over halfway through the year so I thought I’d make a post to show you all my favourite books of 2017 so far! There’s a couple of books on this list that I know 100% will make it to my overall 2017 faves, but we’ll have to see how the others fit. As of today, it is July 26th and I’ve read a total of 53 books so far this year. If i keep going how I’ve been going, I should easily make it to my goal of 75.

Now, I’ve read 53 books this year, and most of them have been between 3.5-5 stars. However, although I’ve rated a lot of books pretty highly this year, it was hard to actually pick out favourites. You’d think it’s because I’ve read so many good books this year, but it’s actually because even though I rated them highly, I don’t know if I can consider a lot of them faves. I think I’m going to be a little more strict with my star ratings in the rest of 2017 because I feel like I rated a few too many of them around 4 stars when they were really around a 3-3.5 star. Nonetheless, here are my fave books of 2017 so far! Note: this list does not include Advanced Reader Copies of books releasing later in 2017.

(These are in no particular order. Click the book title to go to the books Goodreads page).

IMG_9256

1. QUEENS OF GEEK by Jen Wilde

I couldn’t make this faves list without putting Queens of Geek on here! It was the perfect mix of nerdy and cute and the fangirling from the main characters was just so relatable. It also has great anxiety, autism and bi rep. I loved both of the relationships and I loved the friendships as well. This one was just so cute.

img_6349piecing me together

2. THIS SIDE OF HOME and PIECING ME TOGETHER by Renée Watson

I’m kind of cheating a little here and counting this as one, but y’all. I read This Side of Home back in February and just fell in love with it. I knew I had to get my hands on Piecing Me Together and it did not disappoint! I absolutely adore Watson’s writing and characters and love her way of storytelling. After these two, I’ll definitely be keeping my eye out for more books by Watson.

img_9201

3. THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

This is one I’m sure y’all will be seeing on a lot of peoples faves lists this year. I was actually contemplating not including it for that exact reason, but this book deserves all the hype and praise it’s received. This is one of the most important, profound books you’ll read and it is deeply relevant to America’s current political climate. Even if you don’t like reading “political” books, it’d be a shame to not read this one.

female of the species

4. THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES  by Mindy McGinnis

This one was actually a really surprising read for me, which is why I think it’s wormed it’s way into my favourites. This tackles feminism and rape culture in a way I personally haven’t read before and I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this story. Trigger/Content Warnings for sexual assault, murder, violence and gore.

32129370

5. FINDING NEVO by Nevo Zisin

This was the first non-fiction book I read and it made me really want to read more. This is written by a non-binary Australian Jewish author and explores topics such as gender, religion, sexuality and feminism. As far as I’m aware, this isn’t available internationally yet, but when it is, I highly recommend y’all check this out.

small angry planetcommon orbit

6. THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET and A CLOSED AND COMMON ORBIT by Becky Chambers

These two books are only recent faves, but they are faves that I’m 100% sure will make it to my faves of the year overall. These are adult sci-fi books that just have the best casts. They are technically companion novels rather than direct sequels, though I still recommend reading TLWTASAP before reading ACACO. I personally preferred ACACO, but they were both amazing books that I would highly recommend to anyone. They’re just such great character driven sci-fi novels that give you such a warm, fuzzy feeling. I will forever be recommending them.

dark matter

7. DARK MATTER by Blake Crouch

This was a really gripping adult sci-fi thriller that just kept me on the edge of my seat. The writing made the story and the concept easy to grasp and kept you hooked right from the beginning. This is the perfect book for a read-a-thon or anything you just want to be sucked into reading. I’m not sure if this will make it to my 2017 overall faves, but sometimes I still find myself thinking about the sheer mind-fuckery that is this book.

Discussion

There we have my fave books of 2017 so far! I highly recommend y’all check out any of these, and if you do, I hope you love them! Some special mentions should also go to 27 Hours by Tristina Wright and They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera. I decided not to include ARCs of books releasing later in the year, though I think I’ll be including both of these in my overall faves.

  • What are your fave books of 2017 so far? Do you think they’ll make it to your faves after the second half of the year?

Thanks so much for reading!

Until next time,

Taryn.

8 thoughts on “Fave Books of 2017 (So Far)

  1. Pen & Parchment says:

    I really need to read THUG! I bought it as soon as it came out but have neglected to actually read it 🙈 My faves so far this year are probably Crooked Kingdom, Simon VS, Strange the Dreamer, and Song of the Current! ❤️

    Like

  2. roxreadsblog says:

    I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Female of the Species for some reason, I agree with the messages and I liked the small town setting (I can relate to tight communities) but the voice felt super preachy and showy and I didn’t get into it. I really want to read Dark Matter (and thug obv.), I’m hesitant on Queen of Geek, it just doesn’t seem like my type!

    Like

  3. Marta says:

    I loved Queens of Geek too, it was impossible not to include it in my favourites of so far, and I’m sure I’ll include it in my favourites of the year as well haha ❤ And I'm really excited to read The Hate U Give!! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

