August TBR ’17

Hi everyone! I’ve been really bad at sticking to TBRs lately, so I’m only going to make a very small TBR for August. I’m participating in the Tome Topple read-a-thon as well as the Make Me Read It read-a-thon, so I have a couple books set out for those. I also have a couple ARCs I’d like to get to, and then the rest of the month is free reign to read whatever the heck I feel like reading (which will probably be filled with all the awesome new releases releasing in August!). So here are the few books that will be on my set TBR! (Note: click book title to be taken to the book’s Goodreads page)

nyxia

NYXIA by Scott Reintgen

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden–a planet that Babel has kept hidden–where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

I’ve heard some really great things about Nyxia from early reviewers so far so I’m really excited to read this. Nyxia releases on September 12th, so I thought August was the perfect time to read/review it.

34225450

IF THERE’S NO TOMORROW by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Lena Wise is always looking forward to tomorrow, especially at the start of her senior year. She’s ready to pack in as much friend time as possible, to finish college applications and to maybe let her childhood best friend, Sebastian, know how she really feels about him. For Lena, the upcoming year is going to be one of opportunities and chances. 
Until one choice, one moment, destroys everything. 
Now Lena isn’t looking forward to tomorrow. Not when friend time may never be the same. Not when college applications feel all but impossible. Not when Sebastian could never forgive her for what happened. 
For what she let happen.  
With the guilt growing each day, Lena knows that her only hope is to move on. But how can she move on when tomorrow isn’t even guaranteed?

This book wasn’t even on my radar until I saw it was available for request on Netgalley. Even then, I wasn’t too keen on it, but figured since it was an ARC, I may as well see if I got approved so I could review it. I’ve only read a couple of JLA’s previous books and though I was a fan of them a few years ago, I’m not sure I’d like them now. We’ll see. This book releases September 5th.

29283884

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE by Mackenzi Lee

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

TGGTVAV is one of my picks for the Tome Topple read-a-thon, as well as one of the books that was picked for me for the Make Me Read It read-a-thon. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this one since it’s release at the end of June and so I’m very excited to jump on the bandwagon and see what all the fuss is about!

29748925

STRANGE THE DREAMER by Laini Taylor

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Strange the Dreamer is my other pick for the Tome Topple read-a-thon. I’ve been putting this off since it’s release date because my expectations are quite high. I really loved Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and so I’m hoping I love this one just as much, if not more. Laini Taylor also has a really flowery, lyrical way of writing that isn’t very great to read if you’re in a slump, so that’s partly also why I’ve been putting it off. But, I needed another book over 500 pages for Tome Topple and this one’s just been collecting dust on my shelf so I decided to try to pick it up next month.

25164304

OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine—called Mare—the sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two become closer, Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. And soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Of Fire and Stars is the other book y’all picked for me to read in the Make Me Read It read-a-thon. I’ve been in a lil bit of a fantasy mood lately so I think this one will be the perfect book to pick up. I’ve heard a few mixed things about it, but I’m excited to see what I think about it!

Discussion

There we have my relatively short August TBR! If you’ve read any of them, feel free to let me know your thoughts/link me to your reviews and I’ll check them out! What are you hoping to read in August?

Thanks so much for reading.

Until next time,

Taryn.

8 thoughts on “August TBR ’17

  1. Pen & Parchment says:

    I just read an eARC of Nyxia recently and LOVED it! It’s definitely one of my top reads of 2017 so far. Strange the Dreamer is a huge fave of mine, I enjoyed DoSaB a while back and thought STD easily surpassed it! I definitely think Laini’s writing has improved, if that’s even possible. Hope you enjoy all the books on your TBR! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. twobookthieves says:

    I’m so excited to read Nyxia too since I heard you mention it on Twitter! Good luck with the Tome Topple read-a-thon too! I’ve never taken part in any challenge like that but you’re definitely making me consider it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Taryn says:

      I’m really bad at putting of reading large books, so I thought taking part in this read-a-thon might be a good motivator for me to step up my game. Let me know if you decide to participate! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Em says:

    I haven’t read any of those, but I keep hearing amazing things about Gentlemans Guide!! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

