July Wrap-Up ’17

Hey everyone! I had a great reading month in July (I read a total of 10 books) and I really enjoyed most of them. I read a couple ARCs I got from Netgalley, as well as some new releases and a few older books. I’m really happy with the amount of books I read in July, especially considering I’d been kind of slumping in past months. So, here are the books I read! (Note: click book title to be taken to the book’s Goodreads page. Also, click the word HERE in my paragraph of my thoughts on each book to be taken to my full review- if applicable).

crystal storm

CRYSTAL STORM (Falling Kindgoms #5) by Morgan Rhodes

Rating: ★ ★ ★ 

I’m a firm believer that this series has been getting better and better with each installment- until we made it to this book. This was such a let down and I feel like nothing happened until the end. This was 100% a filler book and I have no idea how this series is supposed to wrap up well with only one more book to go.

when dimple met rishi

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Rating: ★★★

This was one of my most anticipated reads for the year and I’m disappointed to say that I didn’t love it. I absolutely loved Rishi and I enjoyed Menon’s writing, however I had a bit of a love/hate relationship with Dimple. I also wish there had been a little more focus on the Insomnia Con. You can find my full review here.

sleeping giants

SLEEPING GIANTS by Sylvain Neuvel

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Rating: ★★★½

I really enjoyed the plot for this one and thought it was really intriguing, but though I liked the writing style at first, it became hard to connect with the characters and I was ultimately let down. You can find my full review here.

dark matter

DARK MATTER by Blake Crouch

“Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

Rating: ★★★★½

This one definitely took me by surprise. A great adult sci-fi thriller, this book will have you turning the pages, craving to know what happens next. I don’t want to say too much about this, but it’s a very quick, fast-paced, well-written book that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. It’s been weeks since I read this and I’m still thinking about the mind-fuck that is this book.

common orbit

A CLOSED AND COMMON ORBIT by Becky Chambers

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for – and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

Rating: ★★★★½

I was a little apprehensive going into this one because I wasn’t sure I was going to like it as much as I liked The Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet but I actually ended up loving it even more. Such a great cast of characters, great writing and a story that is sure to hit you in all the feels. Cannot wait to read more of Becky Chambers’s work.

IMG_9249

HOLLYWOOD HOMICIDE by Kellye Garrett

Dayna Anderson doesn’t set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke black actress wants is to help her parents keep their house. After witnessing a deadly hit-and-run, she figures pursuing the fifteen-grand reward isn’t the craziest thing a Hollywood actress has done for some cash.

But what starts as simply trying to remember a speeding car soon blossoms into a full-on investigation. As Dayna digs deeper into the victim’s life, she wants more than just reward money. She’s determined to find the poor woman’s killer too. When she connects the accident to a notorious Hollywood crime spree, Dayna chases down leads at paparazzi hot spots, celeb homes and movie premieres. She loves every second—until someone tries to kill her.

And there are no second takes in real life.

Rating: ★★★

I received and ARC of this from the publisher through Netgalley. I thought this was a really quick, fun mystery novel, however I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing overall and felt that it just lacked. This book releases August 8th. You can find my full review here.

illegal contact

ILLEGAL CONTACT by Santino Hassell

New York Barons tight end Gavin Brawley is suspended from the team and on house arrest after a video of him brawling goes viral. Gavin already has a reputation as a jerk with a temper on and off the field—which doesn’t help him once he finds himself on the wrong side of the law. And while he’s been successful professionally, he’s never been lucky when it comes to love.

Noah Monroe is a recent college grad looking for a job—any job—to pay off his mounting student debt. Working as Gavin’s personal assistant/babysitter seems like easy money. But Noah isn’t prepared for the electrifying tension between him and the football player. He’s not sure if he’d rather argue with Gavin or tackle him to the floor. But both men know the score, and neither is sure what will happen once Gavin’s timeout is over…

Rating: ★★★★½

This was one of the first m/m romances I’ve read in a while and I’m very glad I decided to pick up an ownvoices one. The writing was great, the relationship progression was great and I loved the plot. Gavin x Noah are the epitome of a perfect hate-to-love romance and I cannot wait to read more of Santino Hassell’s books. This book releases August 15th and you can find my full review here.

tbdate

THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END by Adam Silvera

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day.

Rating: ★★★★★

I was really blown away by how much I loved this book. The concept is amazing, the characters are lovable, the writing is great and the overall story was amazing. Keep an eye out for this one, releasing on September 5th. You can find my full review here.

edge of the abyss

THE EDGE OF THE ABYSS (The Abyss Surrounds Us #2) by Emily Skrutskie

Rating: ★★★★

This was a solid sequel to a series I definitely recommend. Kickass female pirate MC, awesome f/f romance, great plot and packed full of adventure. This is a series I’ll definitely continue recommending, and I’m glad that this sequel lived up to my expectations.

saints and misfits

SAINTS AND MISFITS by S.K. Ali

How much can you tell about a person just by looking at them?

Janna Yusuf knows a lot of people can’t figure out what to make of her…an Arab Indian-American hijabi teenager who is a Flannery O’Connor obsessed book nerd, aspiring photographer, and sometime graphic novelist is not exactly easy to put into a box.

And Janna suddenly finds herself caring what people think. Or at least what a certain boy named Jeremy thinks. Not that she would ever date him—Muslim girls don’t date. Or they shouldn’t date. Or won’t? Janna is still working all this out.

While her heart might be leading her in one direction, her mind is spinning in others. She is trying to decide what kind of person she wants to be, and what it means to be a saint, a misfit, or a monster. Except she knows a monster…one who happens to be parading around as a saint…Will she be the one to call him out on it? What will people in her tightknit Muslim community think of her then?

Rating: ★★★

Saints and Misfits is another one of the books I was highly anticipating reading this year and unfortunately I also didn’t love this as much as I was hoping to. I really liked Ali’s writing, however I feel like this lacked too much in plot and since I didn’t care for most of the side characters, it made the book drag and I couldn’t seem to keep interested in it. Nonetheless, I think I’ll still read anything Ali publishes in the future. You can find my full review here.

Discussion

There are all 10 of the books I read in July! Whilst I had a great number overall, I found most of the books I read this month to be a little average. Nonetheless, They Both Die At The End and A Closed and Common Orbit were stand outs to me and are certainly new faves.

  • How many books did you read in August? Did you like them?
  • If you’ve read any of the books mentioned about, let me know your thoughts

Thanks so much for reading.

Until next time,

Taryn.

 

2 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up ’17

Leave a Reply

